DIY “Love” Sign

Leave a comment

January 28, 2013 by bridgitgillis

photo 3

I created this to go above my bed along with a headboard. I started with a blank 16 X 20 inch canvas. I panted my base color of gray. Once that dried I stenciled the design in yellow. After that dried I dry brushed a light blue over the canvas. I printed out letters in a style and size that I liked and copied them onto the canvas. (See below for instructions) I painted my letters, stapled some ripped fabric to the back for hanging, and there you have it!

My elementary school art teacher taught us how to copy an image from paper to another surface using pencil. Simply take the image you want to copy, color the back of it with pencil, then trace the front of the image firmly. The pencil you colored onto the back will transfer to the surface below, in this instance allowing you to paint your letters exactly how you want them.

 

Leave a Reply

Quality Essential Oils and Accessories

