DIY Laundry Soap and Fabric Softener

Leave a comment

February 15, 2013 by bridgitgillis

IMG_4545

I searched and researched multiple laundry soap recipes until I finally decided on a blend that made sense to me.  Some recipes call for equal parts Borax, Washing Powder, Oxigenated Bleach, and Baking Soda, while other recipes leave out the oxi bleach and baking soda all together.  I think a lot of what will work for you depends on how dirty your clothes get and what kind of water you have.  This is the recipe I settled on:

2 cups Borax
2 cups Washing Soda
1 cup Oxigenated Bleach
1 cup Baking Soda
1 cup grated Felsnaptha soap

I only use cold water when washing my clothes because I have a lot of iron in my water.  I didn’t have a problem with these ingredients dissolving, and I actually read in a post online that using hot water with the oxigenated bleach can cause clothes to fade.

One thing I might add to my recipe is purex crystals.  Many of the recipes I saw called for purex crystals, while others did not.  I like my clothes to smell super fresh out of the laundry, and the current recipe doesn’t really make the clothes smell like anything.


anxiety


Homemade Fabric Softener

From Pin: http://pinterest.com/pin/99149629268454100/

This fabric softener is a quart of vinegar, 25 drops of lavendar essential oil, and a dash of rubbing alcohol.

The directions said to pour 1/2 a cup into the rinse cycle or put into the fabric softener cup in your washing machine.  My machine doesn’t have a fabric softener cup, but it does have a liquid bleach cup, so I tried that.  I was not impressed.  My clothes reeked of vinegar and I couldn’t smell the lavendar at all.  I’ll try it again and add more lavendar, but this idea might not fly for me…

Leave a Reply

Quality Essential Oils and Accessories

