DIY Mug Rugs with Pinwheel Block (EASY)

Leave a comment

February 24, 2013 by bridgitgillis

IMG_4613 IMG_4612

Mug Rugs!  There are plenty of mug rugs out there, many are way nicer than the two I whipped out last night.  If you want to see some of the mug rugs I pinned, check out my Quilts board here: http://pinterest.com/bridgitgillis/quilts/

I am making a wall hanging using the pinwheel block pattern, and the thought crossed my mind that these might make cool mug rugs.  Most of my furniture is cheap enough that I don’t have to worry about using a coaster or mug rug, but I recently refinished my bedside table and I wanted something to protect the surface.

SALVE promo

After I created my pinwheel block, I trimmed a piece of fabric for the back, then used a large decorative stitch for the edges.  I tried binding one but it was a disaster.   I guess I need more practice binding!  🙂

The pinwheel block is super easy to make.  I chose to use 1/2 inch seams, which gave me room to make minor mistakes and still come out with crisp blocks.  Check out the tutorial for making a pinwheel block- you’ll be glad you did!

Here’t the pin with a tutorial for the pinwheel block: http://pinterest.com/pin/99149629268340283/

IMG_4610 IMG_4614

Leave a Reply

