DIY Bible Cover/Bible Case

Leave a comment

April 15, 2013 by bridgitgillis

IMG_5333

I recently found a Bible that I really like.  It’s a softcover and too small for the Bible case I have, so I thought I’d make my own!

 

IMG_5317

I started with some material that I like and some fusable webbing.  I chose to use the fusible webbing because I wanted it to have a little stiffness and the gray material that I used is very thin.

 

IMG_5318 IMG_5319

I traced the exact size of my Bible onto the webbing, which included the front cover, spine, and back cover.  I also measured and drew a pattern for the closure flap, slightly smaller than I actually wanted the finished flap to be.

Once the webbing was on one fabric, I ironed it to the other fabric.

*Keep the paper from your fusible webbing to use as a template later.  (I did not think of this until after I had crumpled it up and thrown it away, but it will help you out later.)

 

After both pieces of material are fused together, place your template (the paper from the fusible webbing) and place it directly over where your fabric has been fused.  Use a straight edge and rotary cutter to cut around your templates.

For the rectangle, give yourself an extra inch on the short ends and 2-3 inches on the long ends, depending on how thick your Bible is.  (It’s better to make it bigger and trim it than make it too small.)

For the closure flap, give yourself an inch around all of the edges but where it will be sewn onto your cover.  Leave an extra 2-3 inches there. (Once again, it depends on how thick your Bible is)

 

IMG_5320

Make the main part of your cover first.  Start by double folding over the edges and sewing the short edges of your rectangle.

 

IMG_5323

Once the short edges are finished, fold your cover in half with the inside part facing out.  Sew the ends.  With the cover still inside out, see how your Bible fits inside.  If it’s too big, sew a seam closer.  If it’s too small, you’ll have to rip the seam and sew a new one.  (This is why it’s easier to start big!)

IMG_5324

Once my seams were right, I noticed that the corners looked a little funny.  I chose to round my corners off a little.  Once you have it the way you want it, trim your extra fabric.  For extra support, I chose to sew around the cover a second time.

 

IMG_5321

Once the main part of your cover is finished, it’s time to start on the flap. Double check your cut-out piece to see if it’s still the size you want it.  If it looks okay, double fold and sew all of your edges but the one that will attach to your cover.


shield blend


IMG_5327

Once that’s done, center it onto the back of your cover and pin it in place.  After it’s pinned in place, flip it over and put your Bible in.  Try folding the flap over to see how it will look.  Adjust as necessary.

Once it’s adjusted, sew it in place.

 

IMG_5328

Once the closure flap is sewn in place, it’s time to figure out how you’d like to fasten it!

You have several options at this point.  You could use velcro, a snap, or something similar to what I did.

 

IMG_5332  IMG_5330

I have a lot of old buttons, so I decided to use a button and some twine to fasten my cover.  I’ve used this method with some of my other bags, and I liked the outcome.

I hand-sewed my button on, and machine-sewed the ends of the twine.  Before sewing the twine, I tied the ends in a knot so that it wouldn’t pull out.

 

IMG_5333

There you have it!  That’s how I made my very own Bible cover!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Quality Essential Oils and Accessories

