From the local Dump… to Dazzling!

Leave a comment

August 29, 2013 by bridgitgillis

20130730_164105 20130730_164118

 

I literally picked up this coffee table at the local dump.  The top of it was so weathered that the finish was chipping off, and someone had spilled blue paint on part of it.  It was solid, though, and I knew it had more life left in it.

I’m not so good at remembering to take “before” pictures, and this was one of those projects.  Before painting, I prepped it by sanding the top with a circular sander to get it nice and smooth, then sanded the legs by hand.

anxiety

I opted for a white paint topped with espresso glaze.  I chose to distress it a bit by sanding some of the white paint off around the edges before glazing.  I have used this glaze for other projects, and this was my first time using it.  Believe it or not, that can of glaze has lasted through this coffee table, a desk, and three kitchen chairs.  I still have some left!

After the glaze, I finished it with some spray polyurethane, being sure to coat the top well.

 

I took a cast-off and in a couple of hour’s time, turned it into a piece that I could easily sell for $75!  That’s what I call a good day!

 

20130827_110847_Richtone(HDR)

Close up of the finish work on the edges

20130827_110839_Richtone(HDR)

20130827_110832_Richtone(HDR)

Close up of the finish work on the edges

Leave a Reply

