From Dilapidated Dresser to Stunning Shelf

Leave a comment

September 18, 2013 by bridgitgillis

20130830_122950

This was the dresser. The drawers kept falling down! I did just about everything to try and fix them, but a day or two later they would break again.

 

My son’s dresser was a sad state.  The drawers kept falling down no matter what I did to try and keep them in their place.  One day I’d had enough and decided to turn this headache of a dresser into a shelf for my kitchen.

 

The first thing I did, after taking the drawers out, was to knock out the support board running vertically down the middle of the dresser.  Every dresser is different, so you will have to judge for yourself what interior parts you want to keep, and what you can get away with discarding.

 

The next step was to build the shelf.  I used some 1 x 2’s my husband had laying around and a piece of plywood.  I screwed the 1 x 3’s into the three sides of the shelf in the shape of a C.  After trimming my plywood, I placed it on top of the C frame and screwed it into the frame.  I finished with some bright paint, and now I have a shelf!

 

*If you’re super crafty, you could use the drawers from this project for another one.  I have seen drawers used as box displays on walls, or screwed together as a sort of shelving unit.*

 

20130912_131500_resized

This was the dresser. The drawers kept falling down! I did just about everything to try and fix them, but a day or two later they would break again.

 

Leave a Reply

Quality Essential Oils and Accessories

