Preschool Spring Craft

Leave a comment

February 26, 2015 by bridgitgillis

kids craft

I teach a preschool/kindergarten kids discipleship class at my church on Wednesday evenings.  Our lesson was about Jesus talking to the woman at the well and telling her about living water that will allow her to never thirst again.  He was talking about eternal life, but this is a hard concept to get a rowdy group of mostly preschool boys to understand.

Since spring is just around the corner (and here in Alaska it has been unseasonably warm) I decided to come up with something a little different than the traditional well craft.  Most kids don’t know what a well is- but they do know what a watering can is!  I wrote their names in the center of the flowers to make it more personal.

How I did it:

Using the internet and Microsoft publisher, I copied and pasted the watering can image and flower image onto a single 8.5 x 11 page.  On a separate page, I used Microsoft publisher to make a text box with the wording “Jesus waters my soul” and John 4:14.  I copied and pasted that text box so I had 4 per page.  You could do just one per page, but I waned to save some paper.  I printed and copied my pages so that there was enough items for each kid in  my class.

Since I have a bunch of preschool boys and I wanted a nice project, I chose to precut my items before class.  That way they could focus on coloring and gluing the items onto a piece of construction paper.  Otherwise, by the time they had cut out the items they would have mentally checked out and scribbled some color on them and slapped them on the page.  If you have older kids or kids who do well at sitting for projects, letting them cut out the images would be totally fine.

I think putting their names on the flower is a key element, because the subtitle is “Jesus waters my soul”.  Otherwise, it kind of just looks like a spring craft that they would do at preschool or anywhere else.

Enjoy!

 

 

anxiety

Leave a Reply

