Easy Spring Wreath

Leave a comment

March 3, 2015 by bridgitgillis

wreath3

I searched my local craft store for a spring wreath, but was unable to find one fitting to my personal style.  (Or budget!  Those things aren’t cheap!)  So I decided to take matters into my own hands and make my own budget spring wreath.  All of the materials I used to complete this wreath were things I already had in my craft stash, so the cost was super budget friendly- free!

I started with a thrift store grapevine wreath and some old pages of a book that I had used for another project.  I gathered a few buttons for flower centers, and scissors and hot glue.  After a few attempts at hand drawing flowers, I decided to print out a template from my computer.  I searched for flower clip art, and found hundreds of designs.  I chose to print three but only used two for this project.

My supplies gathered and ready to go.

My supplies gathered and ready to go.

I experimented with a few flowers until I got them right.  I used my pencil to curl the petals a bit.

Once I had my flowers made I decided to make a little flower-like poof of paper.  It looks kind of cool.  I made two of them but only put one on my wreath.  It was super easy- just bend strips of paper and but a bunch of them together, then staple the ends.

wreath5

After I had my flowers ready, I needed some type of ribbon.  I dug thought my craft supplies and found this old silk tie.  I used one end to make a loop for hanging the wreath, then hot glued the tie around the wreath like you would a ribbon.

Once that was glued, I glued on my flowers and hung it on the door!

wreath4 wreath2I like this wreath because it gives a sense of spring without the bright colors that a lot of spring items have.  Right now I still have snow in my yard, so although I’m not quite ready for bright flowers on my door,  the Valentine wreath and winter wreath don’t really fit either.  This is a cute, whimsical way to welcome spring without your neighbors thinking you’re ahead of the season.

wreath3

Leave a Reply

